New User Evaluating - Text Editor on Bottom?

Discuss MyInfo and get help here
Post Reply
freecicero
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue May 30, 2017 8:41 pm

New User Evaluating - Text Editor on Bottom?

Post by freecicero » Tue May 30, 2017 8:45 pm

I am interested in this program because I come from Ecco and I like the ability to have columns on the outline.

However I have immediately run into a frustration that I need to understand:

Despite all I have seen of examples of this program, the text editor appears at the BOTTOM of my screen instead of the right. I want to move it and have looked through most every obvious option without finding anything.

Now I find a post from 2011 which indicates this: viewtopic.php?f=1&t=3634&p=5940&hilit=bottom#p5940

Can someone explain this design decision? I want to like this program but I find this WAY counterintuitive, and if this is representative of what I can expect when I move through the more advanced features, I doubt I can stay long.... I would have expected that such an obvious discretionary decision where people will likely want to switch back and forth would be easily accessible in an open button somewhere? Is it not?

thanks

Tester
Posts: 163
Joined: Tue Oct 22, 2013 12:08 pm

Post by Tester » Wed May 31, 2017 2:20 am

the text editor appears at the BOTTOM of my screen instead of the right. I want to move it and have looked through most every obvious option without finding anything.
But you can find the solution in the thread you linked by yourself. Petko described it:

- go to File --> Properties & Security --> Appearance
- uncheck the box for "Use horizontal panes":

Image

where people will likely want to switch back and forth would be easily accessible in an open button somewhere
But I thought you would like to have the editor on the right side instead of the bottom? Anyway as far as I can see this is the default setting when creating a topic. So there is not even a need (for users like you or me) to make the steps mentioned above. And usually the "right" or "bottom" will be a decision that a user will keep (at least for one and the same topic). So I do not think many users would need a button for permanent and quick change of this setting.

wsp
Posts: 322
Joined: Thu Aug 07, 2008 8:54 am
Location: Washington, DC

Post by wsp » Wed May 31, 2017 11:37 am

I move occasionally between the two arrangements, depending on whether I have other programs open on the screen.

The easiest way to deal with this is to set up a keyboard shortcut: go to Tools > Keyboard shortcuts > Horizontal panes. My shortcut is shift + alt + Z, and it works in both directions (i.e. I can use it to move the list of of notes either to the left or the top).
Bill

Tester
Posts: 163
Joined: Tue Oct 22, 2013 12:08 pm

Post by Tester » Wed May 31, 2017 12:48 pm

And for users (like me :wink: ) who prefer buttons to keyboard shortcuts there is still another possibility that can at least reduce the standard procedure by one step: They could transfer the "Properties & Security" element to one of the toolbars:

- Tools --> Customize --> tab "Commands"
- Click on "Files" in the list "Categories" and click on "Properties & Security" in the list "Commands"
- Drag "Properties & Security" to somewhere on one of the toolbars

So from now on they could change the position of the editor by clicking on this button, continuing with chosing the tab "Appearance" and checking / unchecking the box for "Use horizontal panes".

freecicero
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue May 30, 2017 8:41 pm

Post by freecicero » Fri Jun 30, 2017 8:09 pm

Thanks to all you guys for your responses. I will soon be a user!

Post Reply