MyInfo v6.36 [4663] BASIC questions

Discuss MyInfo and get help here
Post Reply
StreifLicht
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Oct 28, 2017 4:21 pm

MyInfo v6.36 [4663] BASIC questions

Post by StreifLicht » Wed Nov 01, 2017 10:00 am

I have currently installed the trial cersion of v6.36.

Some questions:
1) What is the maximum size of the database?
Can i store a lot of "objects"? (Excel-Sheets). Or does this lead to performance issues?

2) What is the default font set for the tree?
(I've played a bit around using some other fonts and there is
no "set standard" box. But i would like to switch back to default.
MyInfo_Tree.png
MyInfo_Tree.png (8.45 KiB) Viewed 447 times
3) I have installed the 2018 diary template and copied it into the Templates" folder.
MyInfo_Template_Files.png
MyInfo_Template_Files.png (22.34 KiB) Viewed 447 times
but MyInfo only offers these:
MyInfo_Templates.png
MyInfo_Templates.png (8.7 KiB) Viewed 447 times
Why.

4) Where can i find the features for v7?

BTW: This piece of software is an amazing manager for all tasks and ideas. Nearly perfect.

Regards
Andreas

Petko
MyInfo Support
Posts: 1710
Joined: Sun Jul 25, 2004 4:33 pm
Contact:

Post by Petko » Wed Nov 01, 2017 4:09 pm

StreifLicht wrote:
Wed Nov 01, 2017 10:00 am
1) What is the maximum size of the database?
Can i store a lot of "objects"? (Excel-Sheets). Or does this lead to performance issues?
There is no set limit. It all depends on your system. But having a few hundred up to 2-3 thousand objects should be no problem for most of machines used today. MyInfo 7 will have much higher limits, so it if works ok with MyInfo 6, it will work blazing fast with MyInfo 7.
StreifLicht wrote:
Wed Nov 01, 2017 10:00 am
2) What is the default font set for the tree?
(I've played a bit around using some other fonts and there is
no "set standard" box. But i would like to switch back to default.
The default font for the tree is set via Tools > Options > Display > Tree Pane > Font.

However, if you have changed some items formatting, you have to undo these changes by selecting them and using Format > Remove Formatting (while the tree is focused).
StreifLicht wrote:
Wed Nov 01, 2017 10:00 am
3) I have installed the 2018 diary template and copied it into the Templates" folder.
The Diary template is not a document template, but a topic template. It means that you can create a new topic with it via File > New..
StreifLicht wrote:
Wed Nov 01, 2017 10:00 am
4) Where can i find the features for v7?
I can't give a full list of the new things yet, but in general it will be faster, more flexible and the new file format will allow us to create MyInfo for other platforms beside Windows. If you are interested in particular area, I can give you more information about it.

StreifLicht
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Oct 28, 2017 4:21 pm

Post by StreifLicht » Wed Nov 01, 2017 8:30 pm

Ok, thenk you for the feedback.

Another question:
When i insert a hyperlink within a document in the topic i can jump to another (defined with the hyperlink) document when chlicking on this hyperlink.

Is it possible to define within the target document an anchor so that ich can directly jump to a specific position within this document? For example "jump in the 10th row of the target document.

-SL

Tester
Posts: 165
Joined: Tue Oct 22, 2013 12:08 pm

Post by Tester » Thu Nov 02, 2017 1:44 am

StreifLicht wrote:
Wed Nov 01, 2017 8:30 pm
Is it possible to define within the target document an anchor so that ich can directly jump to a specific position within this document? For example "jump in the 10th row of the target document.
Yes. I do it quite often - in the following way:

- You go with the cursor to the 10th row of the target document and make a right click with your mouse.
- From the context menu you choose "Copy Link to this Paragraph"
- You change to the document where you woud like to place the link and select the text (or number) which should represent the link.
- You choose "Insert" --> "Hyperlink" (in the Menu) or click on the icon "Insert Hyperlink" in the toolbar or press Ctrl+K
- In the window that opens you click on "File or Web Page" and then you paste (via Ctrl+V) the link/anchor you have created before into the field called "Type the address you want to link to" (If you have the link still in your clipboard there is nothing to type but simply to paste. :D ):

Window Hyperlink.jpg
Window Hyperlink.jpg (57.39 KiB) Viewed 431 times
- Finally of course click on OK.

Post Reply