[added] MyInfo and Evernote

Discuss MyInfo and get help here
wsp

[added] MyInfo and Evernote

Post by wsp »

Just a few general thoughts about the potential of MyInfo (which I've been using for many years, incidentally).

At the moment I'm transferring almost three thousand notes from one particular notebook (a big project I'm working on) in Evernote to MyInfo (version 7) — a boring, time-consuming task that I expect will take several weeks. The copy-and-paste part of the procedure is reasonably efficient, but replicating the tags from Evernote is slow and cumbersome.

I'm going to all this trouble because Evernote seems to be on a steep downward slope. The latest release is filled with malfunctions, omissions, and instability. Many long-time users are apparently abandoning it.

I am writing this not to complain about Evernote but to suggest that, if there were an automatic conversion process, it would be a wonderful opportunity for MyInfo to gain new users. You can of course do what I'm doing (though I wouldn't recommend it!): copy and paste. But if it were possible to simply import an Evernote notebook into MyInfo (with only minor touching-up of the notes required afterwards), I'm sure that many unhappy people in the Evernote world would be delighted to make the shift.

I'm aware that Evernote is a very powerful app, but my own experience, for whatever it's worth, suggests that there are only three capabilities that I will miss: the ability to consult my files on an iPhone; the OCR of images of text that I occasionally paste into a note; and being able to have two or more notes open at the same time. But I can live with those shortcomings in MyInfo, because it is such an elegantly designed piece of software, and Petko is so exceptionally responsive to complaints and suggestions.

I'd just like to see MyInfo become more hospitable to those unhappy Evernote users who are abandoning ship right now.
Bill
Telesto

Post by Telesto »