Complete newbie with cloning question

Discuss MyInfo and get help here
Hilary

Complete newbie with cloning question

Post by Hilary »

Hello,

I've just installed and started experimenting, and run into a snag I hope you can help me with.

I like to be able to view the same note in lots of different places. For instance, the course I'm writing for my members that might also get sold separately: I'd like to see that under 'Membership' and 'Products' and 'This week'.

So I tried cloning - but that's really not going to help, because child notes aren't cloned with their parents, and a child note added to a cloned item doesn't get added to its clones. I'd end up in a lovely mess.

Can you suggest another way I could accomplish this? be able to see one note (and all its children) in several places?

Thanks!
Hilary

Post by Hilary »

One other question not worth starting a new thread: now I've created a user-defined attribute, is there some way I can delete it again? :?
Telesto

Post by Telesto »

Hilary wrote: Fri Feb 19, 2021 7:34 pm So I tried cloning - but that's really not going to help, because child notes aren't cloned with their parents, and a child note added to a cloned item doesn't get added to its clones. I'd end up in a lovely mess.

Thanks!
This is currently not possible, I'm afraid. I do know more people asked for this. So it might happen. However you're not talking about cloning a note. But clone a (part) of a try structure. And the notes in the clone area need to appear at other places.

I would tend to 'perspectives' way instead of clones. Based on tags. But having some trouble 'visualizing' how this can be setup; and what the (un)fixable caveats are. Because perspective are not totally setup with this in mind either, I think.