[added] Multiple Attachments per Document

Tell us what could be improved in MyInfo
gcoulthard

[added] Multiple Attachments per Document

Post by gcoulthard »

The one issue that I have with MyInfo is that the program cannot handle multiple attachments per topic.

As a professor, I gather and compile various media files for a single lecture or topic. For example, I could have my own notes in a DOCX, a PowerPoint file (PPT), a video to play (MP4 or FLV), an interactive Flash file (SWF), or multiple PDFs. I would like to store lecture notes in a single document and then attach (embed and/or link) files to this document. MyInfo makes this cumbersome.

For example, if I try to attach a Word document, it imports all the RTF in the notes window. Okay, that's not what I wanted to happen. If I try to add an Excel gradebook, I can no longer just click on the document in the tree item without an Open, Save, or Cancel dialog appearing. Yeah, that's quite annoying. If I click on a PDF document in the tree, the file is displayed similar to a weblink using the internal browser/viewer window. Wondeful, that's what I want for this file type. So you see -- different approaches for different files is necessary.

Preferably, I would like a list of files that I can simply "attach" to a document and have MyInfo manage them for me (like MyNotesKeeper does.)

What do other people think about this feature? How would you handle the above scenario?

Any help is appreciated.
Glen
mfelix

Post by mfelix »

Glen, me too, I'm not completely happy with the attachments handling.

Since I'm not a big fan of embedding external files into a topic (the files just bloat up the topic file and they are difficult to search), I'm more interested in linking to external files.
Today I just drag & drop the files into the editor pane and MyInfo creates a link for me. That's great ! Clicking on the link will open the file externally, which I think is the best solution anyway.