[planned] MyInfo 7: Lock Note improvements

Tell us what could be improved in MyInfo
Post Reply
SleepyBalrog
Posts: 20
Joined: Sat Aug 09, 2014 6:24 pm

[planned] MyInfo 7: Lock Note improvements

Post by SleepyBalrog » Thu Feb 20, 2020 9:38 am

I like the ability to lock a note so it cannot be edited. But the ability to select several notes an lock / unlock them would be nice, as would the ability to do this from the context menu (right click menu) and to be able to lock / unlock a note and all its children / descendants (the entire hierarchy).

Petko
MyInfo Support
Posts: 2649
Joined: Sun Jul 25, 2004 4:33 pm
Contact:

Post by Petko » Wed Mar 18, 2020 4:13 pm

Locking multiple selected notes is planned for some of the next updates.

lbw2112
Posts: 27
Joined: Tue Mar 12, 2019 12:55 am

Post by lbw2112 » Wed May 20, 2020 1:54 am

Any idea when this may be implemented?

It's really needed to select a bunch of notes to lock / unlock.

Thanks,
Larry

SleepyBalrog
Posts: 20
Joined: Sat Aug 09, 2014 6:24 pm

Post by SleepyBalrog » Thu May 21, 2020 3:06 pm

How about locking a section, is that easier or quicker to implement?

lbw2112
Posts: 27
Joined: Tue Mar 12, 2019 12:55 am

Post by lbw2112 » Fri Jun 12, 2020 12:29 am

When multiple selected notes lock is implemented it would good to change how easy it is to delete a locked note.

As it works now, it shows a small warning at the bottom of the "Move to Trash" button window that has a yellow triangle with "Warning: Selection contains locked notes" message. This is too easy to skip by especially when you're going through the motions.

I think it should default to not being able to delete a locked note or at least give us a setting in options to select "Delete locked notes" off or on check mark.

When I lock a note I don't want to be able to change anything about it or delete it unless I unlock it. I'd rather have it reject the deletion and just show "Can't delete locked notes" and then I can go through and unlock them if I really want to delete them.

Thanks,
Larry

Telesto
Posts: 1225
Joined: Fri Dec 15, 2017 5:32 pm

Post by Telesto » Sat Jun 13, 2020 3:06 pm

In my workflow I see locked notes only as system to prevent sudden edits. Not as a system to prevent deletion. In addition is it surely a long road to final disappearance.

-> Press delete -> Deletion warning
-> You need go to empty trash -> Empty trash to really delete & get again a warning
-> And could still be in undo history
-> Last resort: the backup file.

So ' preventing' deletion shouldn't be default, IMHO

FWIW: not sure how many hurdles must be build in to prevent ' in motion' user mistakes. I'm already envisioning replacing the emptying trash dialog for a dialog for every single item separately (without a remember button of course :-). With on course an another dialog appearing reconfirming the choice (you never now). And with different shortcuts for accepting/rejecting.. to prevent users to keep hold the shortcut button. It solves the issue of sudden deletion.. however, most people get pretty annoyed. Or invent solutions to circumvent this behaviour.. (macro or something like that), an take the risk of sudden deletion.

The sample is not intended to ridicule the request or to be offensive..however illustrates the underlaying problem from ' user perspective' . I'm also reluctant based on development perspective. More settings, means more combinations, and more area's where something can go wrong (so more bugs). And those are hard to find; and often corner cases. So not really worth to fix..

Post Reply